CBS Sports? No More

I just read something that leaves me outraged:

TV Commercial’s ‘Political Nature’ Led National Network to Yank It. See If You Can Spot the Problem.

http://www.theblaze.com/stories/2014/09/12/tv-commercials-political-nature-led-national-network-to-yank-it-see-if-you-can-spot-the-problem/

The story is about CBS Sports yanking a commercial of a 4 yr old girl reciting the Pledge of Allegiance with her hand over her heart.

What has become of this country that such a thing, especially here in America, is considered too political? The ghosts of all the service people  in my family who fought in the different wars to preserve our right to do so are weeping. My grandfather – born in Europe but proudly became an American citizen – my uncles, my father, husband, and my son, a survivor. All proudly spent several years in wore-torn countries and on the seas to defend our rights.

Maybe I’m just one voice but I can write to CBS and do my own protesting. If someone reciting the Pledge of Allegiance is too political, then allowing CBS in my home is also too political.

 

I'm a novelist, short story writer, and I currently serve as Editor in Chief for The Knight Writers Magazine and CEO for L. Cooper Press, a service for writers. Thomson-Gale bought one of my novels, With Full Malice, for their 5 Star Mystery line, then Harlequin WorldWide Mysteries bought the mass market paperback rights. I lead a novel critique group in Redlands, CA, so if you're in the area and writing a novel, join us: http://www.meetup.com/SoCal-Novel-Writers-Workshop/ When I can't attend, M.L. Spencer, a fantastic fantasy author, leads the group. For information about The Knight Writers Magazine, check our website. We're always open to submissions: http://www.theknightwritersmagazine.com

Posted in Events, My Blog

Leave a Reply

September 2014
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
