AWOL

To my amazement and shame, I realized it had been months since my last post. Oh, I have some great excuses: a recent major household move which involved looking at properties, finding one, contract negotiation, the waiting to hear, acceptance, the actual move, unpacking, and getting back to business.  For a writer, getting back to business means getting back to writing. And that’s where I’ve floundered. I’ve suffered from that  horrible affliction  – procrastination. 

lazy kitten200

Know what that means to a writer? Oh, I know how the dictionary defines it: ‘to put off intentionally and habitually,’ and that’s very true. But for a writer, it’s a double-whammy – losing days, weeks, months of valuable writing time, and losing touch with other writers and readers.

I’ve also been undecided about WHAT to write. I’ve received requests to write sequels, especially for With Full Malice and The House on Serpent Lake. But while the ideas are appealing, I just couldn’t work up any enthusiasm for either, and a writer has to love an idea in order to work on it day after day, week after week, month after month.

So again, procrastination.

But thanks to a friend who bounced ideas with me,  I’ve started another novel. And I’m excited about it. I won’t say anything else at this point, only that it’s a paranormal. Or perhaps supernatural. And it has to do with changing shapes.

I hope none of you have suffered from my affliction, altho I’ve heard it has the ability to spread fast. Especially during warm summer days. And winter. Ok, spring and fall too. Guess we really have to have diligence to survive it.

Till next time, thanks, y’all.

Brenda 

Leave a comment

July 2, 2014 · 7:13 pm

Leave a Reply

