Giving Up Things I Love

Well, today is a landmark day for me. It’s been one full week of no diet soda – actually, no soda at all. Won’t mention the brand, but anyone raised in the South can guess.

I’ve been addicted to the stuff, regular first, then the diet version ever since it was introduced in the ’80s, drinking several cans a day, then later switching to the 2 ltr. I’d panic if I could see the bottom and didn’t have an extra, so it was normal for midnight runs to the groc to get my fix.

But in recent years, I’ve noticed a downturn in health, so I started reading the labels. Scared me to death at the idea of what I was drinking, but not enough to stop. I tend to go overboard on things I like, so it’s a good thing I’ve never cared for alcohol or I’d be standing in front of a room declaring my addiction to everyone and trying to follow the 12-Step Program.

Last week when I took a good look at some changes in my body and emotional state and reread the warnings, I decided then and there it was time for a change. So I quit. And I also gave up fast food, which I love nearly as much as the colas, and I still crave both as much as I craved cigarettes when I gave them up in the ’80s.

But I’m trying to put health first, hoping that the sacrifices will pay off.

I just wish that trying to be healthier didn’t hurt so much.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Giving Up Things I Love

  1. I feel your pain, Brenda. The only trouble with giving stuff up in order to be healthier is that we’re all going to die anyway, and I sometimes wonder if it’s worth the pain to be good to our bodies. I’m probably rationalizing, huh?

  2. True, Alice, but some of us are healtheir and can enjoy life a little better. That’s what I’m hoping for.

  3. Cheeseburger and Fries!! I could eat them all day long, every day. When I travel I seek out the small local restaurants in search of the most fabulous burger and fries. I limit my love and I’m going to a personal trainer, Barry.
    Since my husband has been gone I miss someone who pushes me to my limits of tolerance. With my husband it was emotional but I came away a better person. With Barry, it’s physical and I am already feeling great. But those 40 minutes twice a week are the longest minutes of my life!! No pain No gain!! Ugh!!
    Keep up the good work!

    • A personal trainer? How fantastic, Judy. I consider it a good day when I get out and walk – at my own slow speed. I’m hoping that when the temps cool down, I’ll feel more like doing something. Cheeseburgers and fries? Oh, how fantastic that sounds. I’d even settle for one off the dollar menu, or a slice of pizza. A taco, burrito, or chips and salsa… No wonder I can’t seem to lose weight.

Leave a Reply

