Southern Fried Dinner

I’ve finished The House on Serpent Lake, waiting to go over the final edits, so I’ve been catching up on cooking. Ok, very little, but still, it’s better than McD’s dollar menu or frozen dinners. And I’ve been browsing websites, drooling over the fried green tomatoes my Southern friends posted on FB, wishing my two cherry-size tomatoes would hurry up and grow.  I’ve checked with all the local farmer’s markets in the area and gave up. No one had  green tomatoes – until this morning! I located a place in Mentone. Since I wanted to get there before they ran out, I threw on clothes, hoping I didn’t forget anything. At least I didn’t get arrested.

At home, I started cooking, and talk about sitting in tall cotton, I had a bowl of pinto beans I cooked this weekend topped with fresh chopped onions, and a large plate of fried green tomatoes.

I was going to take a photo, but I made the mistake of taking ‘just one bite.’ Needless to say, there were none left to photograph.

Maybe next time.

 

I'm a novelist, short story writer, and I currently serve as Editor in Chief for The Knight Writers Magazine and CEO for L. Cooper Press, a service for writers. Thomson-Gale bought one of my novels, With Full Malice, for their 5 Star Mystery line, then Harlequin WorldWide Mysteries bought the mass market paperback rights. I lead a novel critique group in Redlands, CA, so if you're in the area and writing a novel, join us: http://www.meetup.com/SoCal-Novel-Writers-Workshop/ When I can't attend, M.L. Spencer, a fantastic fantasy author, leads the group. For information about The Knight Writers Magazine, check our website. We're always open to submissions: http://www.theknightwritersmagazine.com

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in My Blog
2 comments on “Southern Fried Dinner
    • Brenda Hill says:

      It was, Linda. Oh, how I love those dishes.

      When I lived in Denver, I loved a restaurant in Northglenn called Black-Eyed Pea, and they served Southern fare that really tasted like the South – crispy cornbread, chicken-fried chicken, okra, etc. Hardly ever see them anywhere else, or at least all in one place. All the cornbread in CA is sweet, and I don’t like sweet cornbread. I want it crunchy, at least on the outside.

Leave a Reply

June 2013
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
