Wants and A Restless Spirit

I’m working on Unholy Seduction, trying to complete it this month, but not sure that’s going to happen. I’m doing the physical requirement of sitting in front of my computer, but problem is, I’m looking out the window more often than the computer screen, wanting to grab my keys and take off. Not sure where, but I just want to go. Restless feet, I guess. Or restless spirit, which is a more appropriate phrase since I’m writing a ghost story – or supposed to be writing.

I’d love to be traveling the country, seeing everything I can, but here I am at my desk, dreaming of the day when I can simply take off. I love the sight and sound of the ocean waves crashing on the shore, so I want to drive up the coast of California, see Big Sur, Carmel. I also want to see the east coast as well and have one of those crab bakes on the sand. I want fresh lobster right from the ocean, and I want enough of it so I’m not filling up on salad and potato, saving the lobster for last. I want to see the Everglades – in winter, tho. Mosquitoes and other insects that love to feed on me doesn’t thrill me. Or reptiles. I like to look at them when they’re behind thick glass. Niagara Falls is high on my list, have been fascinated by them since I saw Niagara with Marilyn Monroe as a child.  I want to see everything.

Sometimes I wonder if it’ll ever happen, but in order to keep the dream alive, I must keep writing. I’ll eventually finish the novel, maybe not this month if the wanderlust keeps up, but soon. Then I’ll feel proud of myself, something I need to keep me going.

I'm a novelist, short story writer, and I currently serve as Editor in Chief for The Knight Writers Magazine and CEO for L. Cooper Press, a service for writers. Thomson-Gale bought one of my novels, With Full Malice, for their 5 Star Mystery line, then Harlequin WorldWide Mysteries bought the mass market paperback rights. I lead a novel critique group in Redlands, CA, so if you're in the area and writing a novel, join us: http://www.meetup.com/SoCal-Novel-Writers-Workshop/ When I can't attend, M.L. Spencer, a fantastic fantasy author, leads the group. For information about The Knight Writers Magazine, check our website. We're always open to submissions: http://www.theknightwritersmagazine.com

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in My Blog, Observations

Leave a Reply

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
