Book Signing @ Barnes & Noble, Redlands

On my way to the book signing event at Barnes & Noble Sunday, June 3, I broke out in a sweat. How would it go? I’m not a famous author – yet –  tho I’m working on it, and I’ve only been in CA a few years. And since most days are spent in front of the computer, I didn’t know that many people. My friend and fellow writer, Millie Hinkle, traveled about forty minutes on the SoCa freeway to be with me, so that was a comfort, but still I worried:

Would I sit at that little desk all alone, totally humiliated in front of the B&N personnel?

When I walked into the door, I was astounded by the group of people at my desk, and I looked behind me, expecting to see someone famous. But no, they were waiting for me! And a miracle happened:

My book sold out in 35 minutes!

After that, the events mgr had me sign plates for the customers who ordered the book.

The reception afterward was fantabulous! News Mirror editor Claire Teeter put together an event I’ll remember always. Rachael Gustuson’s hors d’oeuvres were visually appealing and delicious. My son & daughter in law, Roger & Debbie Bowman, spent two days making cake pops to fit the occasion and were a hit with everyone. Mayor Dick Riddell led a champagne toast to me and I truly felt honored.

Thanks to everyone who showed up to make my day a special one.

I'm a novelist, short story writer, and I currently serve as Editor in Chief for The Knight Writers Magazine and CEO for L. Cooper Press, a service for writers. Thomson-Gale bought one of my novels, With Full Malice, for their 5 Star Mystery line, then Harlequin WorldWide Mysteries bought the mass market paperback rights. I lead a novel critique group in Redlands, CA, so if you're in the area and writing a novel, join us: http://www.meetup.com/SoCal-Novel-Writers-Workshop/ When I can't attend, M.L. Spencer, a fantastic fantasy author, leads the group. For information about The Knight Writers Magazine, check our website. We're always open to submissions: http://www.theknightwritersmagazine.com

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Craft of Writing, Events, My Blog, The Publishing Process

Leave a Reply

June 2012
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
